Julian Savea And The Barbarians Are On Their Way To Thomond Park This November

The Barbarians are back at Thomond Park taking on Tonga for the first time on Friday 10 November – 19.30 Kick Off.

It is also an historic occasion for the rugby world, as the Barbarians Womens team makes its debut against Munster Women in the afternoon too – Kick off 2.30pm.

Both the Barbarians and Tonga will have plenty of talent at their disposal and will light up the stadium with their unique brands of rugby. A guaranteed evening of explosive rugby, with pace, power and entertainment on show. 

Among the Barbarians ranks will be New Zealand stars Julian Savea , Ben Franks and Andy Ellis, whose talents could well be worth the entry ticket alone. Savea has scored a remarkable 46 tries in 54 appearances in New Zealand colours, making himself arguably one of the greatest wingers of his generation and ‘The Bus’ will now get the chance to express his power with the Baabaas for the first time. Fellow World Cup winner Franks will provide entertainment for the scrum-enthusiasts while Ellis is to run the show from scrumhalf, a position where he won over 100 caps for the Crusaders in Super Rugby from 2006 until 2016.

And if that’s not enough, also debuting will be the Barbarians Womens who take on Munster in the early 2:30 kick off.

Fiona Coghlan, who captained Ireland to a Six Nations title in 2013, has been named in the first group of women players to pull on the Barbarians shirt and players from six different nations will take part.

Barbarians Squad

Forwards: Ruan Ackermann (Gloucester), Dominic Bird (Chiefs & New Zealand), Willie Britz (Sunwolves), Sam Carter (Brumbies & Australia), Simone Favaro (Fiamme Oro), Ben Franks (London Irish & New Zealand), Dillon Hunt (Highlanders), Steven Luatua (Bristol & New Zealand), Atu Moli (Chiefs), Kwagga Smith (Lions), Ruan Smith (Toyota Verblitz), Adriaan Strauss (Bulls & South Africa), Akker van der Merwe (Sharks), Jacques van Rooyen (Lions), Luke Whitelock (Highlanders & New Zealand).

Backs: Vince Aso (Hurricanes), George Bridge (Crusaders), Richard Buckman (Highlanders), Mitchell Drummond (Crusaders), Robert du Preez (Stormers), Andy Ellis (Kobelco Steelers & New Zealand), Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders), Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs & Australia), Julian Savea (Hurricanes & New Zealand), Nic Stirzaker (Rebels), Harold Vorster (Lions).

*Tickets from €15 for Adults, €10 for Juniors. Family & Group Packages are available. Visit www.ticketmaster.ie or call the Hotline 0818 719 300.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s